Ratified double taxation agreement with Portugal

In February 2017, by Portuguese President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, Portugal ratified the resolution of the Portuguese Assembly approving the agreement signed between Andorra and Portugal to avoid double taxation (DTA), preventing tax evasion. This DTA is in addition to the other four currently in force: Spain, France, Luxembourg and Liechtenstein. With this new agreement, Andorra is increasingly approaching international homologation in the prevention of tax evasion. It is worth noting that these DTA create a more stable and transparent fiscal framework for the investors of the signatory states, preventing entrepreneurs from double taxing their income. Two other agreements are still pending of ratification with Andorra: Malta and the United Arab Emirates.
Also in February, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Andorra Gilbert Saboya, handed over to his counterpart in Belgium Didier Reynders, a proposal for an agreement to avoid double taxation between both countries.