Tax treaty between Andorra and Croatia

The Minister of Finance and Government Spokesman of Andorra, Eric Jover, and the Croatian Minister of Finance, Marko Primorac, signed on 14 October 2022 the Agreement between the Principality of Andorra and the Republic of Croatia to eliminate double taxation on income and capital taxes and to prevent tax evasion and avoidance. This was announced by the Government of Andorra in its communiqué of 15 October 2022.

The signing took place in Washington, in the context of the annual meeting of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), which was held in October 2022. Once the Agreement has been signed by both parties, it will be forwarded to the General Council for parliamentary approval and to the co-princes for information.

Negotiations on this Convention started in March 2021, in the framework of a meeting between the Ministries of Finance of Andorra and Croatia, when the possibility of initiating discussions for a DTA was raised. In October 2021, the Andorran State Secretariat for International Financial Affairs received a request from the Croatian Minister of Finance to start negotiations. The technical teams from both countries started their meetings in the first months of 2022 and the negotiations were conducted in a single face-to-face round between 11 and 15 July 2022, and the final text was finalised.

So far, Andorra has negotiated 13 Double Taxation Avoidance and Prevention of Fiscal Evasion Agreements with the United Arab Emirates, Spain, France, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Cyprus, San Marino, Hungary, Czech Republic and the Netherlands. The countries with which signature and ratification is pending are Hungary, the Czech Republic, the Netherlands and Croatia.